+ + + +
+

With the passing of House Bill 40, qualified Kentucky residents are allowed to conceal and carry deadly weapons as of October 1, 1996.

The Kentucky State Police are in-charge of issuing a Concealed Carry Permit to carry a Concealed Deadly Weapon. Our job is to take an application for a permit from a Calloway County resident and verify his/her completion certificate of the required training from a qualified training instructor as well as the payment of necessary fees, take a photograph of the applicant, and forward that information to the Kentucky State Police. In approximately 3-5 weeks when the Kentucky State Police issue a permit they notify the applicant via mail and the applicant can pick-up his/her permit in our office during normal business hours (8:00am-4:30pm M-F).

As of July 12, 2006, in accordance with House Bill 290 and the changes it made to KRS 237.110, anyone applying for a CCDW license or renewal must be a citizen of the United States. Therefore, applicants will need to fill out and sign a Citizenship Affidavit declaring citizenship to the United States, which will be attached to the application.

Another change that was made to KRS 237.110 states that of the $60 application fee, $40 of it must be a check or money order made payable to the Department of State Police, and any application submitted to the KSP that does not have the $40 fee with it will be returned unprocessed. The remaining $20, (of the $60 application fee), can be cash, check or money order made out to the Calloway County Sheriff’s Office. For more on House Bill 290, click the following link:
http://www.lrc.ky.gov/record/06RS/HB290/bill.doc






For more information, visit the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training web site:
https://docjt.ky.gov/CCDW.html


For a list of list of Certified Instructors and Trainers in Kentucky by county with telephone numbers, visit the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training web site:
https://docjt.ky.gov/forms/CCDW/SHERIFF LIST.pdf


Class Information:

Time: For additional information about the classes please contact your instructor.; (6 hours in the classroom and 2 hours of range time required)


Equipment & Information Requirements for the Training Class:
  • Cost for the training class $75.00 to be paid at the beginning of class
  • Handgun, pistol or revolver, in any caliber.Belt and holster
  • 50 rounds of ammunition for your handgun
  • Eye protection, {safety glasses if you don't wear shatterproof prescription eyeglasses}
  • Hearing protection {ear plugs or ear muffs acceptable}
  • Cleaning kit suitable to the caliber of your handgun (all handguns will be cleaned in the classroom prior to leaving for the range portion of the class)
  • You must be 21 or older to participate
  • You must be a citizen of Kentucky for at least 6 months prior to applying for your license
  • You will have to pass a background check made by the Kentucky State Police when you apply for your license at your local Sheriff's office
  • This training class is required for all citizens who are not currently working as Law Enforcement or retired Law Enforcement from a Kentucky retirement program, and out of state retired officers
  • Ball cap or wide brim type hat
  • Clothing suitable for firing range in the afternoon, if it is raining, be prepared, we will finish the range activities on that date. Rain or Shine
Links on this site marked (PDF) requires Acrobat Reader to view.
Obtain Acrobat Reader by clicking here.